The Northwest Territories Act (RSC 1952, c. 331) provides for the appointment of a Commissioner to administer the government of the Territories under instructions given from time to time by the Governor in Council or the Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources. As a matter of practice, the appointment is held by the Deputy Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources. For administrative purposes the Territories are divided into the provisional districts of Mackenzie, Keewatin and Franklin (Order in Council dated Mar. 16, 1918). The Northwest Territories Act, as amended. also provides for a Council of nine members, four of whom are elected in the Mackenzie District and five of whom are appointed by the Governor in Council. The Commissioner in Council has legislative powers respecting such matters as direct taxation, establishment and tenure of Territorial offices, municipal institutions, controverted elections, licences, incorporation of companies, property and civil rights, administration of justice, game, education, hospitals and generally all matters of a local or private nature. The Council meets once each year in the Territories and at least once each year in Ottawa, which is the seat of government. The resources, except game, remain under the control of the Federal Government. The administration of legislation passed by the Commissioner in Council and the management of resources under federal legislation are carried on by the Northern Administration Branch of the Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources. Administrative offices are located in the Territories at Fort Smith, Yellowknife, Hay River and Inuvik.

COUNCIL OF THE NORTHWEST TERRITORIES (as at Jan. 12, 1961)

Commissioner R. G. Robertson

Deputy Commissioner W. G. Brown

Members of the Council-

Officers of the Council-

Section 3.—Municipal Government*

Municipal government in Canada is placed under the control of the provincial legislatures by the British North America Act, 1867. Thus the powers of municipalities are those delegated to them by statutes passed by their respective provincial governments, some of which apply to all municipalities within the province, some to a certain type or group, and many to one municipality only. Municipal powers are further defined by regulations issued (under the provisions of the Acts) by the provincial government departments charged with their supervision and control. In the Yukon and Northwest Territories some municipal powers have been assigned to certain localities by the Federal Government and the territorial councils.

While powers and responsibilities delegated to municipalities vary from province to province and even within a province, they are largely those of raising money locally, of borrowing, and of spending to provide local services. All provinces give financial assistance in some form, usually as subsidies or grants-in-aid of certain services administered by the municipalities, and often as loans on or guarantees of loans for capital projects. Retention or assumption of what are often regarded as municipal responsibilities is sometimes considered an indirect form of aid, as is the extension of taxing privileges into what may be commonly regarded as a provincial revenue field.

^{*} Prepared in the Public Finance and Transportation Division, Dominion Bureau of Statistics.